We are pleased to announce the results of the 2021 election to the Association’s Board of Directors and Advisory Board. The following members have been elected to serve two-year terms starting on December 15, 2021:

Board of Directors

President: Adelaide H.P. Silva (Federal University of Paraná/CNPq)
Full Professor at the Federal University of Paraná. PhD in Linguistics from UNICAMP (2002), with post-doctoral fellowships at UFSC (2009) and at the Department of Informatics at UFPR (2020). She is the leader of the Grupo de Estudos Fônicos, registered at CNPq, editor of the “Gradus-Brazilian Journal of Laboratory Phonology” and a CNPq researcher. Her research focuses on the commensurability between phonetics and phonology, making use of dynamic models of speech production and using the acoustic analysis of speech sounds in the search for an empirical basis for my reflections.

Vice President: Valéria Neto de Oliveira Monaretto (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul)
Full Professor at the Department of Linguistics, Philology and Literary Theory at UFRGS and research member of the Linguistic Variation Project VARSUL. Coordinator of the VARSUL/UFRGS agency. Head of the Historical Linguistics discipline of the undergraduate course in Letters at UFRGS and professor/advisor of the Phonology/Morphology and Sociolinguistics research lines at PPGUFRGS. Leader of the Social and Linguistic Memory Research Group of Rio Grande do Sul in the 19th century: diachronic research.

1st. Secretary: Sandra Quarezemin (Federal University of Santa Catarina)
Associate Professor at the Department of Vernacular Language and Literature and at the Postgraduate Program in Linguistics at the Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC). She works in the field of Linguistic Analysis and Theory, specifically in Generative Syntax. CNPq researcher. Researcher at the Nucleus of Grammatical Studies-UFSC (NEG – Coordinator of the Linguistic Laboratory at Escola-UFSC (LALESC – Leader of the CNPq Research Group Theory of Grammar and Brazilian Portuguese. She coordinates the Romania Nova Project together with professors Francisco Ordóñez and Andrés Saab, at the Latin American Linguistics and Philology Association (ALFAL). She is a member of ANPOLL’s Grammar Theory Working Group.

2nd. Secretary: Maria Cristina Figueiredo Silva (Federal University of Paraná/CNPq)
She holds a degree in Linguistics and Portuguese from the University of São Paulo (1985), a Masters in Linguistics from the State University of Campinas (1988) and a Ph.D. from the Université de Genève (1994). She is currently a full professor at the Federal University of Paraná (UFPR) and a CNPq researcher. She works in Theory and Linguistic Analysis, specifically within the framework of Generative Grammar.

1st. Treasurer: André Nogueira Xavier (Federal University of Paraná)
Adjunct Professor at the Federal University of Paraná. PhD in Linguistics from the Institute of Language Studies, Unicamp (2014), with post-doctoral internships at the University of British Columbia, Canada, (2015) and at the Department of Linguistics at USP (2016). His research focuses on the description and analysis of phonetic-phonological, morphological, and lexical aspects of libras.

2nd. Treasurer: Rosane Silveira (Federal University of Santa Catarina/CNPq)
Associate Professor at the Federal University of Santa Catarina, working in the Department of Foreign Language and Literature and in the Postgraduate Program in English. PhD in English Language: Applied Linguistics by the Postgraduate Program in English. Coordinator of the research groups NUPFFALE – Phonetics, and Phonology Applied to Foreign Languages ​​and member of the Laboratory of Applied Phonetics (FONAPLI-UFSC) and NUPLE – Center for Research and Teaching of Portuguese – Foreign Language. CNPq productivity scholarship.

Advisory Board

Maria Ieda Alves (University of São Paulo)
She was president of the Executive Committee of the Ibero-American Terminology Network from 11-2000 to 11-2002, coordinator of the WG on Lexicology, Lexicography and Terminology at ANPOLL from 06-2002 to 06-2004, and president of the Linguistic Studies Group of the State of São Paulo from 07-2011 to 07-2013. Since 18-01-2021, during a sabbatical semester at the IEA (Institute of Advanced Studies of the University of São Paulo), for the development of the Project “Study and dissemination of Covid-19 terminology”. She has experience in the field of Linguistics, with an emphasis on Lexicon studies, working mainly on the following topics: Neology, Morphology, Lexicology, Terminology and Lexicography.

Marcus Maia (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)
Full Professor of Linguistics at the Department of Linguistics and at the Postgraduate Program in Linguistics at the Faculty of Arts of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. He is a CNPq researcher. He has been a visiting professor at the Department of Languages, Literature, and Cultures and at the Language Acquisition Research Center at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He founded and coordinates the Experimental Psycholinguistics Laboratory, a research group at UFRJ. Founding member of the National Science for Education Network. He works in the areas of Psycholinguistics, Theory and Linguistic Analysis, and Indigenous Brazilian Languages, developing research and guiding projects on syntactic and lexical processing, Brazilian indigenous languages, etc.

Congratulations to our newly elected Board members and thank you to all of our members who voted, ran for office, and continue to support Abralin!